Cursor usage limit reached: what now?
Short answer: Paid Cursor plans (sold as part of The X Subscription) include one pool of usage for Cursor models, shared across Cursor and Grok. Tiers are stated as multiples of Plus (Premium 4x, Super 15x, Ultra 50x); the absolute pool size is not disclosed. Third-party models are not in the pool.
When it resets: The allowance refreshes weekly. Your remaining usage and next reset date are shown in your editor settings and under Usage at grok.com/dashboard.
cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 · cursor.com checked 2026-10-20
When it resets: The allowance refreshes weekly. Your remaining usage and next reset date are shown in your editor settings and under Usage at grok.com/dashboard.
cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 · cursor.com checked 2026-10-20
What you can do right now
- Wait for the weekly refresh.
- Buy top-offs to keep going (Cursor model rates for extra usage are listed in Cursor's pricing docs).
- Upgrade: Plus $8/mo, Premium $30/mo, Super $100/mo, Ultra $200/mo.
- On Premium and above, third-party models (Claude, GPT, Gemini) are billed at API list price from prepaid credit rather than the pool.
- On a legacy plan (Hobby, Start, Pro, Pro+, Ultra)? Those keep two monthly pools and on-demand usage.
Plans and stated limits
| Tool | Plan | Price | Stated usage limits | Window | Included models | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cursor | Free | $0 | Limited agent and chat requests (not disclosed) | Weekly refresh | Agent and Chat with limited usage; no third-party models | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Cursor | Plus | $8/mo or $80/yr | Basic usage pool; exact size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5 at fixed settings; no Auto, Cloud Agents, Bugbot or third-party models | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Cursor | Premium | $30/mo or $300/yr | 4x Plus usage; absolute size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5; third-party at API list price from prepaid credit | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Cursor | Super | $100/mo or $1,000/yr | 15x Plus usage; absolute size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5; third-party at API list price | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Cursor | Ultra | $200/mo or $2,000/yr | 50x Plus usage; absolute size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5; third-party at API list price | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Cursor | Teams | $30, $100 or $200/seat/mo | Matches seat tier (4x/15x/50x Plus) | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5; third-party at API list price plus Cursor Token Rate | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
Cheaper or different alternatives
Lowest-priced paid individual plan for other tools (stated limits differ; check each):
| Tool | Plan | Price | Stated usage limits | Window | Included models | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI Codex | Go | $8/mo | not disclosed | not disclosed | GPT-6 Luna (Standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Pro | $10/mo | 1,500 AI Credits/mo (1,000 base + 500 flex) | Monthly | A selection of models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Claude Code | Pro | $20/mo monthly; $17/mo billed annually ($200 up front) | At least 5x Free usage per 5-hour session; weekly limits apply; exact count not disclosed | 5-hour + weekly | Opus, Sonnet, Haiku; Fable via usage credits | claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Windsurf / Devin | Pro | $20/mo | Increased quotas (not disclosed); extra usage at API pricing | Daily + weekly | Frontier models from OpenAI, Claude, Gemini, SpaceXAI + open source; free SWE-2 | devin.ai checked 2026-10-19 |
Find a plan for your budget with the plan calculator, or get alerts when limits change. Cursor change feed
Get an email when a plan or limit changes
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.