OpenAI Codex plans and usage limits
Vendor: OpenAI
Hit your limit? Codex usage limit reached? What to do
How limits work: Local messages per 5-hour period (published as ranges per model for Plus/Business) plus weekly limits; Pro plans currently have no 5-hour limit. Extra usage via ChatGPT credits.
learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19
learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19
| Tool | Plan | Price | Stated usage limits | Window | Included models | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI Codex | Free | $0 | not disclosed | not disclosed | GPT-6 Luna (Standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| OpenAI Codex | Go | $8/mo | not disclosed | not disclosed | GPT-6 Luna (Standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| OpenAI Codex | Plus | $20/mo | Estimated local messages per 5h: GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000. Weekly limits may also apply | 5-hour + weekly | GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna (plus GPT-6 Sol/Astra per limits table) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| OpenAI Codex | Pro | $100, $200 or $500/mo tiers | No 5-hour limit currently; weekly limit amounts not disclosed on pricing page. Ultrafast mode on Pro $500 | Weekly (5-hour currently off) | GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-6 Astra | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| OpenAI Codex | Business | $25/user/mo monthly (lower when billed annually, 2+ users) | Standard Business: same per-model 5h ranges as Plus | 5-hour + weekly | GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-6 Astra | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
Changes
- 2026-10-14 GPT-5.5 retired from Codex with ChatGPT sign-in: GPT-5.5 retires from Codex with ChatGPT sign-in at noon PDT (19:00 UTC). API-key sessions unaffected. learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19
- 2026-08-25 5-hour limit restored for Plus: 5-hour limit returned for Plus across Codex and ChatGPT Work; Pro $100/$200 kept without 5-hour limit 'for the upcoming months'. Announced by Codex lead Thibault Sottiaux on X; OpenAI's pricing page now states 'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit' and publishes Plus 5h estimates. learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19
- 2026-07-12 Codex 5-hour window temporarily suspended: OpenAI temporarily removed the 5-hour usage limit for Plus, Business and Pro, leaving weekly limits. OpenAI Support confirmed on the official forum it was temporary, as part of an incident response. community.openai.com checked 2026-10-19
Get an email when a plan or limit changes
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.