GitHub Copilot AI Credits used up: what now?
Short answer: Since 2026-06-01 Copilot usage is measured in GitHub AI Credits (1 credit = $0.01). Monthly totals: Pro 1,500, Pro+ 7,000, Max 20,000; Business 1,900 and Enterprise 3,900 per user, pooled. Free includes 2,000 code completions a month. Code completions and next edit suggestions are not billed in credits and remain unlimited on paid plans.
When it resets: Included credits reset to the full amount at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month, regardless of your billing date. Unused credits don't carry over.
docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 · github.blog checked 2026-10-19
When it resets: Included credits reset to the full amount at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month, regardless of your billing date. Unused credits don't carry over.
docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 · github.blog checked 2026-10-19
What you can do right now
- Wait for the monthly reset (1st of the month, 00:00 UTC).
- Set an additional spending budget to keep using AI Credits, billed at month end. GitHub may cap additional credits on individual plans.
- Upgrade: Pro $10/mo, Pro+ $39/mo, Max $100/mo.
- Use a lighter model: cost depends on the model and tokens used.
Plans and stated limits
| Tool | Plan | Price | Stated usage limits | Window | Included models | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GitHub Copilot | Free | $0 | 2,000 code completions/mo; AI Credits allowance amount not disclosed | Monthly | Auto model selection only | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Pro | $10/mo | 1,500 AI Credits/mo (1,000 base + 500 flex) | Monthly | A selection of models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Pro+ | $39/mo | 7,000 AI Credits/mo (3,900 base + 3,100 flex) | Monthly | Premium models (Claude, GPT, Gemini, Grok and others) | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Max | $100/mo | 20,000 AI Credits/mo (10,000 base + 10,000 flex) | Monthly | Priority access to premium models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Business | $19/seat/mo | 1,900 AI Credits/user/mo, pooled; overage $0.01/credit | Monthly | Premium models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Enterprise | $39/seat/mo | 3,900 AI Credits/user/mo, pooled; overage $0.01/credit | Monthly | Priority access to premium models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
Cheaper or different alternatives
Lowest-priced paid individual plan for other tools (stated limits differ; check each):
| Tool | Plan | Price | Stated usage limits | Window | Included models | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI Codex | Go | $8/mo | not disclosed | not disclosed | GPT-6 Luna (Standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Cursor | Plus | $8/mo or $80/yr | Basic usage pool; exact size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5 at fixed settings; no Auto, Cloud Agents, Bugbot or third-party models | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Claude Code | Pro | $20/mo monthly; $17/mo billed annually ($200 up front) | At least 5x Free usage per 5-hour session; weekly limits apply; exact count not disclosed | 5-hour + weekly | Opus, Sonnet, Haiku; Fable via usage credits | claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Windsurf / Devin | Pro | $20/mo | Increased quotas (not disclosed); extra usage at API pricing | Daily + weekly | Frontier models from OpenAI, Claude, Gemini, SpaceXAI + open source; free SWE-2 | devin.ai checked 2026-10-19 |
Find a plan for your budget with the plan calculator, or get alerts when limits change. GitHub Copilot change feed
Get an email when a plan or limit changes
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.