GitHub Copilot AI Credits explained
Monthly GitHub AI Credits (1 credit = $0.01), token-based. Resets 00:00 UTC on the 1st of each month. Code completions and next edit suggestions unlimited on paid plans.
docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 · docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19
docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 · docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19
Per GitHub, base credits are used first, then the flex allotment; unused credits don't carry over. Business and Enterprise credits pool across the organization, with overage at $0.01 per credit.
| Tool | Plan | Price | Stated usage limits | Window | Included models | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GitHub Copilot | Free | $0 | 2,000 code completions/mo; AI Credits allowance amount not disclosed | Monthly | Auto model selection only | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Pro | $10/mo | 1,500 AI Credits/mo (1,000 base + 500 flex) | Monthly | A selection of models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Pro+ | $39/mo | 7,000 AI Credits/mo (3,900 base + 3,100 flex) | Monthly | Premium models (Claude, GPT, Gemini, Grok and others) | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Max | $100/mo | 20,000 AI Credits/mo (10,000 base + 10,000 flex) | Monthly | Priority access to premium models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Business | $19/seat/mo | 1,900 AI Credits/user/mo, pooled; overage $0.01/credit | Monthly | Premium models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Enterprise | $39/seat/mo | 3,900 AI Credits/user/mo, pooled; overage $0.01/credit | Monthly | Priority access to premium models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
Timeline
- 2026-06-01 Copilot moves to usage-based GitHub AI Credits: Premium request units replaced by token-based AI Credits on all plans; code review also consumes Actions minutes; Copilot Max upgrades enabled. Base prices unchanged. github.blog checked 2026-10-19
- 2026-04-27 GitHub announces Copilot usage-based billing: Announcement that all Copilot plans would switch to AI Credits on 2026-06-01; fallback to cheaper models after exhausting allowance removed. github.blog checked 2026-10-19
Not sure which fits? Try the plan calculator.
Only vendor-stated facts are used; numbers a vendor doesn't publish are shown as not disclosed.
Get an email when a plan or limit changes
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.