Claude Code usage limit reached: what now?
Short answer: Claude plans use a rolling 5-hour session window, and paid plans add weekly limits. Claude Code and the Claude apps draw from the same pool. Anthropic publishes no fixed message or token count: Pro gives at least 5x Free usage per 5-hour session, and Max gives 5x or 20x Pro.
When it resets: The session limit resets every five hours. Max's weekly limit resets at a fixed time each week assigned to your account; you can see your next reset in Settings > Usage.
claude.com checked 2026-10-19 · support.claude.com checked 2026-10-19
When it resets: The session limit resets every five hours. Max's weekly limit resets at a fixed time each week assigned to your account; you can see your next reset in Settings > Usage.
claude.com checked 2026-10-19 · support.claude.com checked 2026-10-19
What you can do right now
- Wait for the 5-hour session or weekly reset (check Settings > Usage).
- On paid plans, turn on usage credits to keep working at standard API rates.
- Upgrade: Pro $20/mo, Max 5x $100/mo, Max 20x $200/mo.
- For heavy coding sessions, Anthropic notes you can use pay-as-you-go API credits through a Console account.
Plans and stated limits
| Tool | Plan | Price | Stated usage limits | Window | Included models | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Free | $0 | No Claude Code access | 5-hour session | Sonnet, Haiku | claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Claude Code | Pro | $20/mo monthly; $17/mo billed annually ($200 up front) | At least 5x Free usage per 5-hour session; weekly limits apply; exact count not disclosed | 5-hour + weekly | Opus, Sonnet, Haiku; Fable via usage credits | claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Claude Code | Max 5x | $100/mo | 5x Pro per-session usage; weekly limit across all models; exact count not disclosed. Fable capped at 50% of weekly limits. $100/mo API credits | 5-hour + weekly | Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku | support.claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Claude Code | Max 20x | $200/mo | 20x Pro per-session usage; weekly limit across all models; exact count not disclosed. Fable capped at 50% of weekly limits. $200/mo API credits | 5-hour + weekly | Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku | support.claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
Cheaper or different alternatives
Lowest-priced paid individual plan for other tools (stated limits differ; check each):
| Tool | Plan | Price | Stated usage limits | Window | Included models | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI Codex | Go | $8/mo | not disclosed | not disclosed | GPT-6 Luna (Standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Cursor | Plus | $8/mo or $80/yr | Basic usage pool; exact size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5 at fixed settings; no Auto, Cloud Agents, Bugbot or third-party models | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| GitHub Copilot | Pro | $10/mo | 1,500 AI Credits/mo (1,000 base + 500 flex) | Monthly | A selection of models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Windsurf / Devin | Pro | $20/mo | Increased quotas (not disclosed); extra usage at API pricing | Daily + weekly | Frontier models from OpenAI, Claude, Gemini, SpaceXAI + open source; free SWE-2 | devin.ai checked 2026-10-19 |
Find a plan for your budget with the plan calculator, or get alerts when limits change. Claude Code change feed
Get an email when a plan or limit changes
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.