Cheapest AI coding plan
Cheapest paid individual plans, lowest first. Free tiers are listed below.
| Tool | Plan | Price | Stated usage limits | Window | Included models | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI Codex | Go | $8/mo | not disclosed | not disclosed | GPT-6 Luna (Standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Cursor | Plus | $8/mo or $80/yr | Basic usage pool; exact size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5 at fixed settings; no Auto, Cloud Agents, Bugbot or third-party models | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| GitHub Copilot | Pro | $10/mo | 1,500 AI Credits/mo (1,000 base + 500 flex) | Monthly | A selection of models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Claude Code | Pro | $20/mo monthly; $17/mo billed annually ($200 up front) | At least 5x Free usage per 5-hour session; weekly limits apply; exact count not disclosed | 5-hour + weekly | Opus, Sonnet, Haiku; Fable via usage credits | claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| OpenAI Codex | Plus | $20/mo | Estimated local messages per 5h: GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000. Weekly limits may also apply | 5-hour + weekly | GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna (plus GPT-6 Sol/Astra per limits table) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Windsurf / Devin | Pro | $20/mo | Increased quotas (not disclosed); extra usage at API pricing | Daily + weekly | Frontier models from OpenAI, Claude, Gemini, SpaceXAI + open source; free SWE-2 | devin.ai checked 2026-10-19 |
| Cursor | Premium | $30/mo or $300/yr | 4x Plus usage; absolute size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5; third-party at API list price from prepaid credit | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| GitHub Copilot | Pro+ | $39/mo | 7,000 AI Credits/mo (3,900 base + 3,100 flex) | Monthly | Premium models (Claude, GPT, Gemini, Grok and others) | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Claude Code | Max 5x | $100/mo | 5x Pro per-session usage; weekly limit across all models; exact count not disclosed. Fable capped at 50% of weekly limits. $100/mo API credits | 5-hour + weekly | Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku | support.claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| OpenAI Codex | Pro | $100, $200 or $500/mo tiers | No 5-hour limit currently; weekly limit amounts not disclosed on pricing page. Ultrafast mode on Pro $500 | Weekly (5-hour currently off) | GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-6 Astra | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Cursor | Super | $100/mo or $1,000/yr | 15x Plus usage; absolute size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5; third-party at API list price | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| GitHub Copilot | Max | $100/mo | 20,000 AI Credits/mo (10,000 base + 10,000 flex) | Monthly | Priority access to premium models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Claude Code | Max 20x | $200/mo | 20x Pro per-session usage; weekly limit across all models; exact count not disclosed. Fable capped at 50% of weekly limits. $200/mo API credits | 5-hour + weekly | Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku | support.claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Cursor | Ultra | $200/mo or $2,000/yr | 50x Plus usage; absolute size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5; third-party at API list price | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Windsurf / Devin | Max | $200/mo | Significantly higher quotas (not disclosed) | Daily + weekly | Full model availability | devin.ai checked 2026-10-19 |
Free tiers with coding access
| Tool | Plan | Price | Stated usage limits | Window | Included models | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI Codex | Free | $0 | not disclosed | not disclosed | GPT-6 Luna (Standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Cursor | Free | $0 | Limited agent and chat requests (not disclosed) | Weekly refresh | Agent and Chat with limited usage; no third-party models | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| GitHub Copilot | Free | $0 | 2,000 code completions/mo; AI Credits allowance amount not disclosed | Monthly | Auto model selection only | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Google Antigravity (CLI) | Individual (free) | $0 | Basic weekly rate limits (not disclosed); unlimited Tab completions and Command requests | Weekly | A variety of agent models | antigravity.google checked 2026-10-19 |
| Windsurf / Devin | Free | $0 | Light agent quota (not disclosed); unlimited inline edits and Tab | Daily + weekly | Limited model availability | devin.ai checked 2026-10-19 |
Not sure which fits? Try the plan calculator.
Only vendor-stated facts are used; numbers a vendor doesn't publish are shown as not disclosed.
Get an email when a plan or limit changes
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.