Claude Max 5x ($100) vs Codex Pro ($100 tier) limits
OpenAI lists Codex Pro as $100, $200 or $500/mo tiers. Our sourced data has one Pro entry, so limits shown apply to Pro generally; per-tier weekly amounts are not published.
| Claude Max 5x ($100) | Codex Pro ($100 tier) | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $100/mo | $100/mo |
| Stated limits | 5x Pro per-session usage; weekly limit across all models; exact count not disclosed. Fable capped at 50% of weekly limits. $100/mo API credits | No 5-hour limit currently; weekly limit amounts not disclosed on pricing page. Ultrafast mode on Pro $500 |
| Window | 5-hour + weekly | Weekly (5-hour currently off) |
| Models | Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku | GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-6 Astra |
| How limits work | Rolling 5-hour session window plus weekly limits on paid plans; one pool shared across Claude apps and Claude Code. No fixed message count published. | Local messages per 5-hour period (published as ranges per model for Plus/Business) plus weekly limits; Pro plans currently have no 5-hour limit. Extra usage via ChatGPT credits. |
| Source | support.claude.com checked 2026-10-19 | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
Limits are as stated by each vendor; we don't estimate undisclosed numbers. Not sure? Try the plan calculator.
Get an email when a plan or limit changes: pick your tools and sign up on the Alerts page → or subscribe on beehiiv